words

I love to do word studies. When I hear a word that is new to me, I will go to the dictionary to find out all of its meanings. I will then endeavor to try to use it in conversation soon afterword. This increases vocabulary, which is great for one who writes. I often find the media misuses words. I think this occurs because the person has also heard a word new to them and they don’t take the time to research the word. One word that has come to the forefront in the past year is disingenuous. I hear that word so much that is becoming boring. Like sheep following sheep! In doing a word study recently, I came across a scripture in Proverbs 18:21. It reads “The tongue has the power of life and death.” Wow, does that mean what I speak out of my mouth can bring life or death? Actually, yes! I can speak life to a situation or death to the same situation. For example, I often hear the expression “It scared me to death.” I have to reply,” then why are you still living?” I think the right expression should be “It scared me to life!” More accurate, don’t you think? Another common expression is “I’m fixing to catch a cold.” You can be sure that person will get a cold because they spoke it into existence. My word study led me to James 3:10, which reads “Out of the same mouth comes praise and cursing.”  How true this is. How many of you have cursed a car that is acting up or a computer, which has just swallowed your masterpiece. I wonder what would happen if we praised the situation instead. I would love to hear reports of what happens if we praise instead of curse when things go awry.

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in words.

Leave a Reply

