Political correctness

With all the talk about ethnicity and political correctness, I got to thinking. Now that could be dangerous! I was born on Long Island, New York, and I grew up in one of the best places to discuss the above. My neighborhood was very diversified. We had Protestants, Catholics, Jews, and others. A French family lived next door, and my high school was integrated. No one gave much thought to our differences; after all we were all people. I played with dolls of all nationalities, and no one questioned. My mother made lamb stew (our Irish heritage), Sauerbraten (our German background), roast beef and Yorkshire pudding (the English side), and our local bakery made Dutch rolls that were wonderful. (If anyone knows where I can find these do let me know). But I digress. We ate pizza, Chow Mein, and bagels on a regular basis. One special treat was going into the city, where a variety of ethnic delights awaited. I remember Luchows, a famous German restaurant, where my grandfather was Maitre d, or for a more casual treat the Horn and Hardart automat was a favorite. Interesting foods were displayed behind glass doors and the patron deposited the appropriate coins into a slot and the door opened. Their macaroni and cheese was the best. Nedicks was another special place, and Nathans for Coney Island frankfurters (hot dogs) smothered in special sauce with curly fries on the side brings back special memories. I am quite sure political correctness would not have been in my vocabulary. Correct meant you treated everyone with dignity and respect. We were different, and rather than judge people by their differences, we learned from each other. I believe I am well rounded because of these experiences. I moved to Florida in my thirties and I encountered an unfamiliar world. While not the Deep South, the word prejudice became a part of my vernacular. Tennessee became home and although I encountered some people with long held prejudices, I observed that times were changing. Acceptance was on the rise. Sadly, another unreasonableness has occurred. What’s more it is sweeping the country. I wish I could say it is good, but it has brought another prejudice called political correctness. Words like diversity awareness and training are bantered about. Instead of allowing folks to choose their associates, we are forced to accept this new way of thinking  or face grave ramifications. I don’t know about you, but this has had the reverse effect on me. I wonder why I cannot draw my own conclusions about people. The bottom line is I like some people and I do not like others. It’s not based on any bias, but on common interests, etc. I want to make my own decisions about whom I will interact with. Please don’t dictate to me about rights. I support the Constitution, and the Bill of Rights as written. I don’t see anything in those documents that says I have to accept everyone. It also does not say everyone has a right to a house, a car, insurance, etc. However it does say we all have a right to work so we can purchase the above. That’s a topic for another day.

Leave a Reply

